Skip to content

WINBT: March 5 and 6

March 6, 2014

 

 

 

Sitting here, at the beginning of this project, I predict that most of these things that I’m not buying are going to fall into two categories: Impulse buys I’ll get over quickly and investment pieces I may eventually get.

And today’s entries include pieces from each category.

Yesterday, March 5, I was wearing an old scarf that’s been washed too much. And although I love it, I think it’s time to let it go. But instead of, y’know, wearing another scarf, my immediate thought was to replace it with something new. This lattice medallion scarf from J.Crew seems to fit the bill: Bright colors, soft texture, and a square shape that will drape beautifully.

It's no coincidence that kryptonite is green. It's a weakness for all of us.

But here’s the question: Do I really like it? I mean, it’s green, so plus. But it’s also navy, a color I like, but don’t wear all that often. If it were black and white with kelly green accents, it would be a lot harder to say no.

Besides, I already own a big, soft, square scarf with a super cool design. It’s not based on a vintage print… It’s based on a vintage map of LA! That’s SO MUCH COOLER!

If I get lost, will this tell me where to go?

The next decision may be a little bit more difficult. A classic pair of penny loafers has been on my to-buy list for a while. And while I have two non-classic pairs, they don’t quite cut it. When I saw that Cole Haan was introducing its Monroe penny loafer for women, I made a mental note to keep an eye out for promotions and sales and I added it to my spring shopping list.

nothing snarky to say here

So instead of adding a classic menswear piece to my wardrobe right now, I’m going to stick with some old favorites: A pair of tan oxfords that have been a staple since I acquired them in August. They’re comfy, cool, and they add just a bit of insouciance to any outfit. It would be nice to have another option, but these will do for now. Or at least until May.
not quite loafers, but they'll do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

