Skip to content

What I’m Not Buying Today

March 6, 2014
tags:

Lent. 40 days and 40 nights of depriving oneself of temptation and vice. I’m not a big one for omitting things from my life. Saying no. Self control. Which isn’t always a good thing. So, in an effort to streamline my life, I’m going to try to give up shopping for Lent. 40 days with no UPS special deliveries. No tissue wrapped goodies. Nothing bright, shiny, new and unsullied by its presence in my life.

So here are the rules: From yesterday, March 5, through Easter Sunday, April 20, I’m going to try not to buy any new clothes, jewelry, makeup, beauty products, books, CDs*, DVDs, fancy wine or other nonessential items. Exceptions may be made if a staple item becomes unusable or if I run out of something and don’t have a viable replacement. I mean, if I rip a hole in my dark skinny jeans, I’m not going to go through Lent without them. That’s just not OK.

I’m also going to try to post regular updates here on what I’m not buying and what I’m digging out of my closet instead. Meanwhile, pop into the comments and tell me: Are you giving anything up for Lent? Do you think I’m crazy for giving up shopping for 40 days? The comments section is also the official spot for placing the over/under on when I’ll crack.

 

*Yes. I still buy CDs. Physical ones. Usually at Starbucks, but sometimes I make a special trip to Best Buy. 90s revival!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

