Skip to content

I’m not addicted

March 29, 2012

A few weeks ago, I told you about Birchbox, where, for $10/month, you get a customized box of beauty samples. It’s amazing. I love it. It’s vastly improved my life.

I’d heard through the grapevine about similar services in other genres, if you will, of life necessities. But I never really bothered to look into them. I figured Netflix brought me movies, Birchbox brought me beauty and I figured I was set.

But when my friend Mindy told me about Stitchfix, I was intrigued. Apparently, it delivered to her friend G a romper that changed her life. Life-changing rompers? SIGN. ME. UP.

Unlike Birchbox, Stitchfix is a one-time $20 fee for the box of five items. If you like what you get, you can use that as a credit towards buying it. Otherwise, pack it all up and you’re out $20 for the experience. You fill out a general questionnaire about your size, your body type and your tastes. Hopefully you’ll love something in the box and maybe there will be something that pushes the edge for you.

Now, onto the juicy stuff: What I got.

1. A necklace

2. A mesh top

3. An open-knit sweater

4. A floral tunic

5. A dress

And what did I think? In all honesty, I hated it and I wish I hadn’t wasted my money. But, on the other hand, $20 isn’t that much money to satisfy my curiosity. I’ve spent much more on terrible Jane Fonda movies (I love you, Jane, but Georgia Rule was atrocious).

Buuuuuut, I’m absolutely the wrong person for this service.

See, I have a pretty good sense of what I like and what I don’t like, as well as a pretty restrictive dress code at work, where I occasionally get free clothing. Likewise, I have a hard time paying full price (minus $20) for something I’ll only wear on weekends, especially if my reaction is, “meh, it’s OK, for the things in my box.”

So who do I think it’s right for? If you’re in a style rut, I think it’s great. Likewise, if you have a job where you can wear what you want, it’s a fun way to add something unexpected to the mix. Same goes for people who want more clothes for the weekend and have trouble balancing style and trends. And if you’re a dedicated boutique shopper, it might help introduce you to new brands.

And what would I do if I worked for Stitchfix? Well, first off, I’d ask how old people are and/or how “mature” they like to dress. I’m in my late-20s and, well, I like to dress like that. The dress I received would look great on someone 10 years younger, but it was a dress for a girl and I’m not a girl anymore and don’t dress like one. I’d also pay closer attention to the opinions of the brands. I received two pieces from a brand I’m familiar with and dislike, for many reasons. It’s not my style, it’s a little young for me and I think the quality is out of line with the price. Nothing in my stitchfix did anything to change the opinion and, from their perspective, they wasted 40% of my box on something I warned them against.

Will I order a stitchfix again? Probably not, at least in the forseeable future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

