Skip to content

Beauty dare: Bright lips

July 26, 2011

Last week, I was going through some recent issues of Lucky, looking for some style and blogging inspiration and I came across a picture of two adorable editors wearing NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Addis Ababa (shocking pink) and Monte Carlo (brick red). “Ooooh, they look so pretty!” I thought. “Ooooh, it’s only $6,” I went on. It seemed like the perfect way to indulge in this season’s fuchsia lip trend without breaking the bank. Plus, SOFT! MATTE! LIP! CREAM! Seems so fun!

So I went to Ulta, found the NYX display, and plopped myself on the ground to try to find the right colors. At various points, I had, not just Addis Ababa in my hands, but also Amsterdam (dark terracotta), London (the perfect nude), and San Paolo (peachy pink), before deciding, “Hey, let’s stick to one crazy, potentially unflattering color at a time, OK?” and went on about my Ulta errands-running.

But lo and behold, somewhere between the rollerball perfumes (tiny perfume!) and topcoat (shiny!), I talked myself out of the lip cream and put it back on my way to the checkout line.

But four whole days later, I’m still thinking about it. And blogging about it. And looking at that picture from Lucky, going, “Can I pull that off?”

Now, as someone who regularly wears red lipstick and gamely embraces crazy colors in my nail polish (RULE: If you wouldn’t buy that color cardigan, don’t buy that color nail polish), I’m stymied by my inability, not just to wear, but to BUY crazy pink soft matte lip cream. Isn’t this what NYX is all about? The crazy, cheap impulse buy?

Tell me, is there a daring look you’re afraid you can’t pull off? Should I give in and buy the soft matte lip cream? Do I need to say the product’s entire full name? Or am I alone in my neuroses?

“Oh, there she goes off to her room to write that hit song, ‘Alone in my neuroses.'”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. amazonredheadedubervixen permalink
    July 26, 2011 4:32 pm

    A. Ooh! I wonder how those compare to Sephora’s cream lip stain, which I love as much as a momma cat loves her kitten.

    B. I think you can totally pull off the fuchsia lip trend. Plus, it’s only $6! And if you hate it, Ulta should take it back. No risk at all, there! Doooo iiiiit!

    C. I can’t do a fuchsia lip, but we knew that a long time ago. I have, however, tried a couple reds, which I thought previously was forbidden territory, and I liked them. That’s as daring as I care to get.

    D. I must disagree with your nail polish rule. I use nail polish to wear colors that I WOULDN’T necessarily wear otherwise. For instance: the aforementioned fuchsia looks terrible on me, but I love me some fuchsia nail polish this summer.

    E. Off topic except that it relates to that Lucky cover: I’m DYING for Christina Hendricks’ hair color.

    • July 26, 2011 5:10 pm

      The nail polish color rule is more to expand the color options, not limit them. Like, “I would wear a blue cardigan, so why not blue nail polish?”

      Also, don’t we all want Christina Hendricks’ EVERYTHING!?

      • amazonredheadedubervixen permalink
        July 26, 2011 5:19 pm

        Ahhh. As someone who would buy cardigans in a very limited number of colors, I thought that rule was restrictive. I see now!

        Actually, I’m not sure I’d want her knockers. That’s a lot to carry around on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

