Skip to content

Be prepared

December 16, 2010

It was one of those mornings. You know the kind–you stay in bed for those extra five minutes and before you know it, those five minutes you stole have multiplied like bunnies and suddenly you’re running 15 minutes behind and you find yourself scrambling around like a madwoman just to leave the house with teeth brushed and actual pants on.

I’m not the only one who has those, right?

Because I had one today. And while I managed to get out with teeth brushed and actual pants on, that was about all I got done. No makeup, no jewelry, no second cup of coffee. No big deal, I thought, until I actually got to work, opened up my calendar and realized I had a meeting that afternoon. Not a big one, but one that required a bit more polish. Whoops!

But no big deal. You I pulled this one out.

How? A few key items stashed in my cosmetics bag.

kate spade gumdrop studs
They’re small enough to live in my makeup bag, but they’re big enough to make a statement.

Cover Girl Shadow Blast in Bronze Fire
Is this a must-have makeup item? Absolutely not. I got it when it was new and it went straight into my makeup bag for days like today. Definitely not an everyday item, but it’s perfect for emergency situations.

Maybelline Color Sensational lipstick in Yummy Plummy
When in doubt, wear lipstick. I bought Yummy Plummy with a friend a few months ago and I’ve been obsessed with it ever since. It’s completely low-maintenance, goes with everything and is bold without being dark. LOVE. IT.

Goody Spin Pins
There are few things that look more polished than a sleek chignon. Thank you, ballerinas. But they can look a little uptight. Thank you, ballerinas. The Goody spin pins make a ballerina bun easy and not too fussy, which is perfect for (ahem) second day hair.

A firm handshake and a warm smile
If they’re looking me in the eye, they won’t notice the lint on my blazer, right?

Do you have an emergency kit or am I just that crazy? This is why I can’t carry small purses.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

