Skip to content

Love means never having to say you’re sorry

December 3, 2010

This may be an unpopular opinion, but I love winter. When the air gets crisp and the trees are bare, I love to pile on layers of cozy sweaters and beat up boots. Grey skies, short days… I’ll grow to hate them in February, but I love them now.

Another unpopular opinion? These chilly nights make me want to curl up on the couch with a fluffy blanket, a steaming cup of hot chocolate and “Love Story.” Yes, it’s a terrible movie, but I love it. And if it taught us anything, it’s that love absolves you from all future apologies, so no apologies here. But there’s a reason people still watch that movie: Ali McGraw’s turn as the poor-but-smart-and-dreamily-attired Jenny Cavilleri. I could wear every one of her outfits now, 40 years later, and look fantastic.

Aren’t they pretty?

Now, unless you’re on Radcliffe’s campus, I don’t know if I advocate the head-to-toe preppy look, but it’s not hard to incorporate those touches into a contemporary wardrobe.


A chic, belted trench epitomizes Jenny’s classic style. This is the kind of coat that instantly elevates any outfit and will look great for decades. Available at J.Crew.

How cozy are these? A shearling lined coat like the one Jenny wore in the movie can look a little dated, but shearling lined boots are a delightful update. Available at LOFT. (Unfortunately, it looks like the camel color is sold out. Oh no!)

Plaid minis are a staple of Jenny’s wardrobe and will probably become a staple of mine, too. Since watching “Love Story” (research, my friends. Research), I’ve added a wool felt mini and a tweed mini to my repertoire and this skirt might be next. It strikes that right balance between classic and current. Available at Canvas.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a Harvard-Yale hockey game to see.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 1:53 pm

    This reminds me–I am in desperate need of cute, new winter skirts. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

